Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PESHAWAR: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Governor Iqbal Zafar Jhagra has nominated Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz MPA-elect Sardar Aurangzeb Nalotha as the presiding officer to administer oath to the new members of the provincial assembly on Monday.

According to a notification issued here on Friday, Mr Nalotha, who hails from Abbottabad district, would preside over the oath-taking ceremony of the house after the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf has nominated the outgoing Speaker and MNA-elect Asad Qaisar for the position of National Assembly Speaker.

Mr Qaisar was elected both MNA and MPA in the July 25 general elections from his hometown of Swabi. He is vacating the provincial assembly seat.

After nomination of Mr Qaisar for the office of NA Speaker, the provincial assembly secretariat sent a summary to the governor to nominate an MPA-elect to preside over the swearing-in ceremony.

According to the summary, the assembly secretariat proposed names of five members-elect, including Maulana Lutf ur Rehman, Sardar Hussain Babak, Sardar Aurangzeb Nalotha, Inayatullah Khan and Sultan Mohammad Khan. However, Governor Jhagra nominated Mr Nalotha as the presiding officer.

The maiden session of the assembly will start at 10am on Monday. The house will elect speaker, deputy speaker and chief minister during the current session.

Published in Dawn, August 11th, 2018