Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


KARACHI: Pakistan number one Aqeel Khan outplayed brother Yasir Khan while Abid Mushtaq got the better of Mudassir Mirza in the mens singles semifinals to set up the final in the 2nd EAM & SEM Memorial National Tennis Championship here at the Karachi Gymkhana on Saturday.

Aqeel proved too good for his brother Yasir who, despite showing some resistance, went down 6-4, 6-2. In the other semifinal clash, Mudassir fully extended Abid with some fine display of backhand and forehand before going down 6-4, 6-4.

In the under-18 semis, Mohammad Shoaib of KPK beat Izhar 6-4, 6-3 in a tough contest while Nouman Aftab faced stiff resistance from Saqib before winning.

The under-14 category witnessed an upset when Ibrahim stunned top seed Hamid Israr in the semifinal while Hashish Kumer breezed past Mahatir Muhammad 6-3,6-4.

The ladies singles semifinal saw the brilliant Ushna Sohail cruising past her rival Eraj Batool while talented Sara Mansoor beat Zoha Asim to enter the final in style.


Mens Singles (semifinal) Aqeel Khan bt Yasir Khan 6-4,6-2; M Abdid Mushtaq bt Mudasir Mirza 6-4,6-4

U-10 (semifinal) Zain Ehtisham bt Duraf Das 8-0

U-14 Singles (semis) Ibrahim Khan bt Hamid Israr 6-2 6-3; Hashish Kumer bt Mahatir Muhammad 6-3,6-4

Ladies Singles (semifinal) Ushna Suhail (lhr) bt Eraj Batool Zaidi 6-0,6-0; Sara Mansoor (Isb) bt Zoha Asim 7-5.6-4

U-12 Singles (semis): Hamza Roman bt Ahmed Neal (Isb) 8-3; Mahatir Muhammad bt M Zain Ehtisham 8-2

U -16 Singles (semis) Nalain Abbas (Lhr) bt Hamid Israr 6-2,6-1 M Dada bt Hashish Kumer 7-6,(3) 7-6 (6)

U-18 singles (semis) M Shoaib (KPK) bt Izhar (KPK) 6-4,6-3; Nauman Aftab bt Saqib 6-4, 4-6, 6-2

Mens Doubles (quarter-finals): Abid+ Waqas bt Shakirullah + Hasan 6-2, 6-3; Hira + Mudassir bt Ahsan + Faiq 6-1,6-1; Yousuf + Asadullah bt Tajamul+ Rishi 6-1, 6-7, 6-1; Aqeel Khan +Yasir Khan bt Khalid Ali Nazar + Asad Ali Bhagat 6-1,6-1.

Published in Dawn, July 22nd, 2018