Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Ahsan stars for Zone-VI with century

July 21, 2018


AHSAN Ali ... fantastic knock
AHSAN Ali ... fantastic knock

KARACHI: Opener Ahsan Ali slammed a dazzling 185 as Zone-VI whipped Zone-II by an innings and 95 runs in their PCB Senior inter-district cricket tournament match at the Lawai Cricket Stadium here the other day.

Ahsan’s knock included 22 fours and one six while guiding his side to 337-6 declared after Zone-II mustered 1117 all out in their first innings.

Zone-II, starting their second innings 220 runs behind, were dismissed for 125 with young left-handed all-rounder taking three wickets for as many runs.

Zone-VI have now accumulated 25 points from four matches.

Meanwhile despite slow left-armer Sohaib Khan returning match bag of 12-124, Zone-IV failed to prevent Zone-V winning their fixture at the Landhi Gymkhana Ground by five wickets.

Summarised scores:

Zone-Vi beat Zone-II by an innings and 95 runs Lawai Cricket Stadium (Naya Nazimabad).

Zone-II 117 in 44.5 overs (Ahmer bin Nasir 42; Ghulam Mudassar 4-41, Mohammad Ismail 4-48) and 125 in 74 overs (Fahaddis Bukhari 35, Noor Wali 26, Mohammad Ali 23; Danish Aziz 3-0, Faraz Ahmed Khan 2-17, Raza ul Hassan 2-31, Bilal Manzoor 2-45); Zone-VI 337-6 declared in 82.2 overs (Ahsan Ali 185, Usman Khan 66 (64-16), Ali Asad 57(64-16); Faisal Tahir 3-87, Saeed Raza 2-38).

Zone-V beat Zone-IV by five wickets at Landhi Gymkhana Ground.

Zone-IV 90 in 33.2 overs (Haris Ali Khan 31; Moazzam Malik 3-12, Saif Ghauri 3-38, Mohammad Ali 2-25) and 180 in 69 overs (Kaleemullah 48, Yasir Mushtaq 38, Mohammad Yaqoob 33; Mohammad Salman 6-54, Mohammad Zahid 3-37); Zone-V 139 in 40.3 overs (Zubair Dilawar 32, Arsalan Bashir 27, Mohammad Zahid 22; Sohaib Khan 7-64, Shahid Nadeem 2-29) and 132-5 in 22.3 overs (Moazzam Malik 49 not out, Zubair Dilawar 49, Arsalan Bashir 23; Sohaib Khan 5-60).

Published in Dawn, July 21st, 2018