Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


ISLAMABAD: The transfer of police officers in the federal capital ahead of the general elections appeared to be mere eyewash as a majority of the station house officers (SHOs) were removed from one area and posted to another police station.

The shuffling was made for all the police stations except the women police station. There are 22 police stations in the capital and the police have about 150 inspectors and 400 sub-inspectors.

However, 15 SHOs were transferred from one police station to another, two SHOs transferred to other police stations and appointed as additional SHOs while one additional SHO was made SHO of another police station.

15 officials removed from one station and posted to another

“There is no need for a massive shake-up if it is a routine procedure,” a police officer said, adding there was no difference in transferring them from one zone to another if it was done due to their political affiliations or suspicion that they could misuse their power during the elections.

It would have been better to appoint SHOs from the logistics, security divisions or other wings of the police to remove any doubt in holding the elections in a transparent manner, the officer said.

Transfer/posting is not necessary for elections and there is also no law in this regard, the officer added. But the caretaker government removed the officials having political affiliations so they cannot use their power and influence on the polling day.

Earlier, a list carrying the names of SHOs was sent to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) for approval but it was rejected, another police officer said. Later, the ECP in a letter to the establishment division said only posting/transfer of officers in BPS 20 and above should be referred to the commission for approval.

After the ECP decision, the capital police implemented the same list for the transfer of SHOs.

According to the police, SHO Bhara Kahu Inspector Haq Nawaz was posted to Khanna as the SHO, SHO Karachi Company Inspector Mohammad Athar as SHO Shahzad Town, SHO Kohsar Inspector Khalid Mahmood Awan as SHO Shalimar, SHO Kural Inspector Mohammad Nawaz as SHO Bhara Kahu, SHO Loi Bher Inspector Jamshed Khan as SHO Nilor, SHO Nilor Inspector Mohammad Arshad as SHO Koral, SHO Noon Inspector Mehboob Ahmed as SHO Secretariat, SHO Sabzi Mandi Inspector Asjad Mehmood as SHO Ramna, SHO Shalimar Inspector Malik Abid Ikram as SHO Kohsar, SHO Tarnol Inspector Mohammad Fiaz Shenwari as SHO Sabzi Mandi, SHO Aabpara Sub-Inspector Rashid Ahmad as SHO Industrial Area, SHO Golra SI Abdul Razzaq as SHO Aabpara, SHO Industrial Area SI Mohammad Gulfaraz as SHO Banigala, SHO Khanna SI Liaquat Ali as SHO Shams Colony and SHO Shams Colony SI Ashiq Mohammad as SHO Tarnol.

Likewise, SHO Shahzad Town Inspector Niaz ussain Jaffari was appointed as Additional SHO Karachi Company, SHO Margalla SI Habibur Rehman as Additional SHO Kohsar and Additional SHO Kohsar Inspector Arshad Ali was appointed as SHO Noon.

Four inspectors deployed at Logistics Division were appointed as SHOs. They are: Inspector Ghulam Qasim as SHO Golra, Inspector Sajjad Haider Bukhari SHO Sihala, Inspector Mohammad Bashir SHO Karachi Company and Inspector Ulfat Arif SHO Margalla.

Inspector Qaiser Niaz stationed at the Crime Investigation Agency was appointed as the SHO Loi Bher, SHO Secretariat Inspector Abdul Sattar, was made SHO Banigala, Inspector Amir Umar SHO Ramna, Inspector Tahir Iqbal transferred to the Investigation Wing and SHO Sihala Inspector Ibrar Hussain was transferred to Security Brach as the in-charge of the SSP operations office.

Published in Dawn, June 29th, 2018