Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


ANP names candidates for next polls

November 21, 2017

PESHAWAR: The Awami National Party on Monday announced names of 10 candidates for the 2018 general elections on the national and provincial assemblies seats.

A statement issued here said that the party’s parliamentary board met at Bacha Khan Markaz here to nominate candidates for the next elections. ANP provincial president Ameer Haider Khan Hoti presided over the meeting.

The statement said that the board allotted ticket to Malik Imran for NA-33, Upper Dir. Engr Mukhtiar was nominated for PK-94, Naeem Jan PK-96, Hussain Shah Yousafzai PK-97, Shafiullah Kahn PK-98 (Malakand), Ijaz Ali Khan PK-99, Gul Zameen Shah Khan PK-31 (Swabi), Mohammad Ayaz Khan PK-33, Engr Amjad Ali Khan PK-34, Mohammad Islam Khan PK-35 and Wajid Ali Khan PK-80 (Swat).

The statement said that Sardar Hussain Babak, Aimal Wali Khan and Khurshhed Khattak also attended the meeting.

On the occasion, Mr Babak said that the party was launching several new candidates who would contest elections for the first time.

He said that Malik Imran was fresh candidate who had been nominated for NA-33 constituency. Similarly, Ayaz Khan from Swabi, who is son of former MPA Shoab Khan, was also new. His father was killed in a targeted killing incident. Engr Mukhtiar would also contest the elections first time, said Mr Babak, adding that the board was announcing names of the candidates phase-wise.

Published in Dawn, November 21st, 2017