Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LAHORE: Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is likely to accord administrative approval within next 30 days or so to the proposal seeking reorganisation of three major power distribution companies (Discos).

The names of new Discos have also been finalised, it is learnt.

“The senior officials of the Pakistan Electric Power Company Limited (Pepco) and the Discos, who were asked by the ministry of energy (power division) last month to submit their suggestions in this regard, have almost completed their homework,” says an official privy to the development. “And keeping in view the fast pace of work on the plan, we are hoping that the PM will approve it within next 30 days,” the official, who requested anonymity, told Dawn on Monday.

Under the plan, Lahore Electric Supply Company (Lesco) and Peshawar Electric Supply Company (Pesco) will initially be bifurcated into four companies, while the Multan Electric Power Company (Mepco) will be divided into three companies.

Besides these, three more Discos would also be bifurcated at a later stage once the pilot activity proves to be successful.

The plan, “Reorganisation of Discos” was finalised after the ministry reached a consensus that Mepco, Lesco and Pesco continued to face more problems than other companies because they dealt with over 13m consumers.

The official said under the plan suggested so far, Mepco was being divided into Bahawalpur Electric Power Company (Bepco) and the Sahiwal Electric Supply Company (Sesco) and itself. Mepco will have the districts of Multan division -- Multan, Khanewal, Vehari and Lodhran, while Sesco will consist of the districts of Sahiwal, Pakpattan, Bahawalnagar and Okara.

Bepco will deal with the districts of Bahawalpur, Rahimyar Khan, DG Khan, Rajanpur and Muzafargarh.

As far as the Lesco is concerned, it is being divided into two companies—Lesco-1 and Lesco-2. Lesco-1 will deal with half of Lahore and the entire Kasur district, while Lesco-2 will deal with Lahore’s remaining half and the districts of Sheikhpura and Nankana.

Since all is being done to improve governance, Pesco is being divided into two companies—Pesco-1 and Pesco-2.

However, he said the offices/headquarters of Lesco-1 and Lesco-2 would remain in Lahore, while Sesco, Mepco and Bepco would have separate headquarters. Similarly, Pesco-1 and Pesco-2 may also have separate head offices, the official explained.

“The PM is so eager to execute this plan. And recently he held a meeting with the CEOs of five major Discos, including Mepco, Lesco and Pesco,” the official said.

Published in Dawn, October 24th, 2017