NEW YORK: The Comm­ittee to Protect Journalists has named four journalists who won the 2017 International Press Freedom Award for their work in their countries despite government’s harassment, death threats or imprisonment.

The CPJ will honour Ahmed Abba from Cam­eroon, Patricia Mayorga from Mexico, Pravit Rojanaphruk from Thailand and Afrah Nasser from Yemen with its press freedom award at an event in New York on November 15.

“Journalists around the world face growing threats and pressure,” said CPJ Executive Director Joel Simon. “Those we honour are the most courageous and committed. They stand as an example that journalism matters.”

The inaugural Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award of the CPJ will be presented to Judy Woodruff, the award-winning broadcast journalist and managing editor of PBS NewsHour.

Published in Dawn, July 19th, 2017