Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LAHORE: The politicians, both in the government and opposition, congratulated the Pakistan cricket team on winning the ICC Champions’ Trophy 2017 on Sunday.

The political leaders who congratulated the team for beating India in the final and lifting the trophy included Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif, Governor Rafique Rajwana, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf chairman Imran Khan, PML-Q leaders Chaudhry Shujaat Husain and Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi, PPP leaders Bilawal Bhutto, Asif Ali Zardari, Yusuf Raza Gilani, Qamar Zaman Kaira and Chaudhry Manzoor, acting Punjab Governor Rana Muhammad Iqbal, acting Speaker Punjab Assembly Sher Ali Gorchani and Jamaat-i-Islami chief Sirajul Haq.

Imran Khan said the team played like a unit and performed superbly. He congratulated the nation also on the victory.

Mr Zardari said every member of the team, management, coaches and Captain Sarfaraz did a great job and made the nation proud.

Published in Dawn, June 19th, 2017