Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LAHORE: The south Punjab chapter of the PPP finalised on Monday recommendations for the districts of Multan, Bahawalpur and Dera Ghazi Khan divisions.

Former prime minister Yousuf Raza Gilani-led committee recommended three names for each office – president, general secretary and information secretary – meaning nine nominations for each district.

Interestingly, it will be a win-win situation for all the nominees as those not selected for these offices by Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari will be appointed against other offices like vice-president, finance secretary, deputy secretary, etc., one of the participants told Dawn.

He said background, like his previous affiliation(s) with party, biradari, previous electoral contests, of the nominees would also be dispatched to the party chief to help him make the best choice.

About allied wings of the party, he said the committee had decided that only those had been recommended as office-bearers of the People’s Students Federation (PSF) who are students as non-students would be asked to join the youth wing.

In the youth wing, he said, the members would stay for three years and then would join the party.

He said the body had also recommended reviving the study circle system for the education of party workers on various issues.

Published in Dawn, September 20th, 2016