Deadlock ends: PkMAP candidate nominated for Quetta mayor

Published January 27, 2015
Dr Kaleemullah Khan, PkMAP candidate for Quetta mayor. — Photo: Syed Ali Shah
Dr Kaleemullah Khan, PkMAP candidate for Quetta mayor. — Photo: Syed Ali Shah

QUETTA: Ruling coalition partners in the Balochistan government agreed to elect Dr Kaleemullah Khan as Quetta mayor on Tuesday.

Dr Kaleemullah, a former provincial minister, belongs to Pashtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP).

After thorough consultations, ruling PkMAP, Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) and National Party (NP) decided to field a unanimous candidate for the seat of city mayor.

Final round of local bodies elections is scheduled to be held in Quetta and other districts of Balochistan on January 28 (tomorrow).

The seat of deputy mayor in Quetta would be given to PML-N’s Younus Lehri as per the agreement struck among the coalition partners.

Addressing a joint press conference, PkMAP provincial president Usman Kakar and secretary general of PML-N Balochistan, Naseebullah Bazai, claimed that the alliance has a clear majority to elect mayor and deputy mayor. “We formed an alliance in the interest of the citizens of Quetta,” Bazai said.

Read: Balochistan government in deadlock over Quetta mayor

The All Parties Democratic Alliance (APDA) has nominated Qazi Abdul Qahir Achakzai as their candidate for mayor and Raza Wakeel for deputy mayor.

Achakzai belongs to the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (Ideological) and Raza Wakeel belongs to the Hazara Democratic Party (HDP).

A total of 10,600 councilors would elect 725 mayors, deputy mayors, chairmen and vice chairmen across the province during final phase of the elections.

The Election Commission has declared four districts Zhob, Quetta, Killa Abdullah and Killa Saifullah as sensitive for security reasons.

Balochistan Election Commissioner Syed Sultan Bayazeed said foolproof security arrangements were made for holding peaceful elections in the province. “We have deputed 139 presiding officers across the province,” he said.

The elections were held on December 7, 2013, in the the province and its final phase was had been delayed owing to a pending case in the Supreme Court.



Dark days
Updated 26 May, 2022

Dark days

The PTI, on its part, does not seem to have been prepared to face such a large deployment of state machinery.
26 May, 2022

No room for dissent

WHILE political turmoil roils the land, a number of incidents over the past few days have demonstrated that though...
26 May, 2022

Harassing passengers

REPORTS of the confiscation of personal items from passengers’ private luggage by customs officials at Karachi’s...
Back to bedlam
Updated 25 May, 2022

Back to bedlam

FEAR tactics have never worked in the past, and most likely will not this time either. The government’s ...
25 May, 2022

Balochistan blaze

THE forest fire on the Koh-i-Sulaiman range in Balochistan’s Shirani area is among a series of blazes to have...
25 May, 2022

Unequal citizens

INDIFFERENCE would have been bad enough, but the state’s attitude towards non-Muslims falls squarely in the...