Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LSA rolls out the red carpet for 2013 winners

December 05, 2014


A GROUP of the award winners.—White Star
A GROUP of the award winners.—White Star

KARACHI: After what has been an extensive wait, the annual Lux Style Awards 2013 finally hosted its awards ceremony and announced 27 winners in various categories at a local hotel. The event was not as grand as compared to previous ceremonies but nevertheless the lucky winners were seen beaming with pride as they struck a pose for the cameras in front of the brand skin on being recognised for their efforts in fashion, film, music and television.

The fashion and entertainment fraternity was in full attendance and the turnout remained quite encouraging with a winners’ lineup towards the end of the ceremony which saw all the winners together on stage for group shots.

The fashion winners are models Cybil Chowdhry, Abbas Jafri and Amna Babar (Emerging Talent), Rizwan ul Haq (Photographer), Nabila (Hair & Make-up), designers Iman Ahmed (Pret), Sania Maskatiya (Luxury Pret & Lawn), Ahmed Bham (Menswear) and Khaadi (High Street Brand).

In the film category, Zinda Bhaag walked away with the award for Best Film as well as Meenu Gaur and Farjad Nabi for Best Director and Khurram Patras for Best Actor. The Best Actress trophy went to Aamina Sheikh for Seedlings.

The coveted Best Album award went to Yaran Di Toli by Rizwan Ali Jaffri in music followed by Yasir Jaswal for Bolay by Uzair Jaswal (Music Video Director), Humayun Saeed and Shahzad Nasib for Main Hoon Shahid Afridi (Original Soundtrack), Shaheryar Mirza (Emerging Talent) and Malaal by Rahat Fateh Ali Khan (Song of the Year).

Finally, in television,  the eight lucky winners were evenly distributed across all channels. The winners in the Satellite category are Daagh on ARY Digital (Serial) and actors Fawad Khan and Sanam Saeed for Zindagi Gulzar Hai on Hum TV. In Terrestrial, Mar Jaen Hum To Kya on ATV won Best Serial followed by actors Nauman Ejaz for Dil Awaiz on PTV Home and Mehwish Hayat for Kami Reh Gaye on PTV Home and Yamina Peerzada for Roshni Andhera Roshni on ATV. The Best Writer trophy went to Amna Mufti for Ullu Barai Farokht Nahin on Hum TV and the Best Director LSA to Haseeb Hasan for Nanhi on Geo TV. 

Published in Dawn, December 5th, 2014