Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LAHORE: Zohra Yusuf was re-elected chairperson and Kamran Arif advocate co-chairperson of the Human Rights Commission of Pakistan (HRCP) here on Sunday.

They were re-elected for 2014-16 in the election held in the commission's annual general meeting.

The vice-chairpersons elected are: Tahir Husain Khan advocate (Balochistan), Sher Mohammad Khan advocate (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Nazish Ataullah (Punjab) and Asad Iqbal Butt (Sindh). Salima Hashmi was named as the commission Treasurer.The members of the HRCP Council (Governing Body) are: Asma Jahangir, Hina Jilani, Dr Mehdi Hassan, retired Air Marshal Zafar A Chaudhry, Zahoor Ahmad Shahwani advocate, Parveen Soomro, Nasreen Azhar, Uzma Noorani, Habib Tahir Khan advocate, Tahira Kamal, Ghazi Salahuddin, Nadeem Anthony, Sadia Bukhari, Kanjee Rano Bheel, Joseph Francis, Inder Ahuja, Akhtar Husain Baloch, Roland de Souza, Badaruddin Soomro, Saleh Zada, Abdul Ghani Mengal, Tahira Abdullah, Babar Ayaz, Raja M Ashraf and Amarnath Motumal.