Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Malik, Imran share limelight in President’s Cup

November 06, 2013

KARACHI, Nov 5: Shoaib Malik celebrated his inclusion in the national squad for the upcoming Twenty20 series against South Africa with a match-winning knock, while discarded Pakistan opener Imran Nazir blasted a belligerent 189 in the President’s Cup matches on Tuesday.

Malik, the ex-Pakistan captain, scored 64 (off 84 balls, five boundaries) as Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) defeated Habib Bank Limited (HBL) by two runs in a rain-hit clash which was decided on Duckworth-Lewis Method at the Marghazar Cricket Ground in Islamabad.

Earlier, HBL made 215-5 with returning skipper Younis Khan contributing an 85-ball 68 which included eight hits to the fence.

For the second successive match, a Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited (ZTBL) struck gold in the limited-overs competition. Last week, Sharjeel Khan blasted 194 against Water and Power Development Authority (Wapda) at the Marghazar venue.

This time it was the turn of Imran Nazir to steal the headlines against holders Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) at the National Cricket Stadium in the federal capital.

After being sent into bat, ZTBL plundered 367 in 41.2 overs with Imran spanking 26 fours and nine sixes on his way to 189 off mere 83 balls before he was bowled by leg-spinner Yasir Shah. Yasir Hameed, the former Pakistan batsman who made 20, was reduced to a silent partner during their second-wicket partnership of 163.

Haris Sohail made 58 off 43 balls with nine fours. Test batsman Azhar Ali, leading SNGPL in the enforced absence of Misbah-ul-Haq and Mohammad Hafeez captured five wickets for 66 runs in nine overs of leg-spinners.

Azhar then completed a grand double by scoring an uncharacteristic 106 off 76 balls (11 fours and two sixes) as SNGPL were all out for 258 in 36 overs. Slow left-armer Zafar Gohar took a career-best 5-56 in only his third appearance at this level.

Test opener Khurram Manzoor returned to form with a bang as he slammed 128 not out (132 balls, 18 fours and two sixes) to help Port Qasim Authority (PQA) record their first win of the season when they defeated Pakistan Television (PTV) by eight wickets at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Khan Research Laboratories (KRL) beat State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) by 64 runs to chalk up their second win on the trot at the KRL Stadium in Rawalpindi.

United Bank Limited (UBL) completed a miserable period of play for Wapda when they sealed a five-wicket victory at the Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad.

Results on Tuesday:

At Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad: United Bank Limited beat Water and Power Development Authority by five wickets.

WATER AND POWER DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 160 in 37.4 overs (Rana Naved-ul-Hasan 38, Adnan Raees 22, Ahmed Said 21, M. Ayub Dogar 20; Atif Maqbool 4-34, Adil Raza 4-44); UNITED BANK LIMITED 161-5 in 40 overs (Hamza Paracha 43, Bismillah Khan 38, Abid Ali 31, Ahsan Ali 27; Asif Ali 2-28, Khalid Usman 2-28).

At Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore: Port Qasim Authority beat Pakistan Television by eight wickets.

PAKISTAN TELEVISION 231-8 in 45 overs (Imran Ali 103, Mohammad Sami 70; Kamran Younis 2-30, Mohammad Sami 2-45); PORT QASIM AUTHORITY 233-2 in 35.3 overs (Khurram Manzoor 128 not out, Shahzaib Hasan 66).

At Marghazar Cricket Ground, Islamabad: Pakistan International Airlines beat Habib Bank Limited by two runs (D/L) Method.

HABIB BANK LIMITED 215-5 in 45 overs (Younis Khan 68, Salman Qadir 43 not out, Hasan Raza 26, Rameez Aziz 25, Shan Masood 22); PAKISTAN INTERNATIONAL AIRLINES 182-6 in 39.5 overs (Shoaib Malik 64, Fahad Iqbal 31, Faisal Iqbal 20; Aslam Qureshi 2-40).

At National Cricket Ground, Islamabad: Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited beat Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited by 109 runs.

ZARAI TARAQIATI BANK LIMITED 367 in 41.2 overs (Imran Nazir 189, Haris Sohail 58, Sharjeel Khan 29, Abdul Razzaq 27, Yasir Hameed 20; Azhar Ali 5-66, Asad Ali 3-67); SUI NORTHERN GAS PIPELINES LIMITED 258 in 36 overs (Azhar Ali 106, Yasir Arafat Jr 30, Ali Waqas 23, Mohammad Rizwan 21; Zafar Gohar 5-56, Imran Nazir 2-38).

At KRL Stadium, Rawalpindi: Khan Research Laboratories beat State Bank of Pakistan by 64 runs.

KHAN RESEARCH LABORATORIES 218-7 in 45 overs (Zain Abbas 53, Usman Salahuddin 39, Ali Khan 24, Saeed Anwar Jr 23, Tayyab Riaz 22; Zahid Mahmood 2-39, Faisal Yasin 2-49); STATE BANK OF PAKISTAN 154 in 36.1 overs (Raheel Majeed 72, Kashif Siddique 27, Jalat Khan 23 not out; Umaid Asif 2-27, Nayyar Abbas 2-28, Yasir Arafat 2-31).