Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Ramdin penalised for claiming dropped catch

Updated June 10, 2013
Ramdin wrongly claimed a catch against Pakistan. -Photo by AFP
Ramdin wrongly claimed a catch against Pakistan. -Photo by AFP

LONDON: West Indies' wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin was on Monday suspended for two one-day matches and fined 100 percent of his match fee for wrongly claiming a catch in the Champions Trophy.

Match referee Chris Broad charged Ramdin with violating the spirit of the game following a hearing in London after the wicket-keeper had pleaded not guilty to the offence.

“This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game,” Broad said in a statement released by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

“I hope Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future,” the former England batsman added.

The suspension means Ramdin will miss Tuesday's match against India at the Oval and the last group game against South Africa in Cardiff on Friday.

A West Indies spokesman told AFP that they would not appeal and that opener Johnson Charles, who does have wicket-keeping experience, would be behind the stumps against India.

Unlike some sporting sanctions, merely launching an appeal would not have enabled Ramdin to play on Tuesday as, under ICC rules, “pending the outcome of the appeal, the sanction imposed will apply”.

The incident took place at the Oval, London, last Friday when Ramdin appeared to catch Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq off Kemar Roach before the batsman had opened his account.

Australian umpire Steve Davis gave Misbah out but the decision was referred to third umpire Tony Hill following the intervention of English official Nigel Llong at square leg.

Replays showed that while Ramdin had, initially, caught the ball, he had subsequently allowed it to spill out of his grasp. It was eventually decided that Ramdin did not have full control over the ball.