PESHAWAR, April 18: One hundred and one candidates on Thursday withdrew their nomination papers for four National Assembly and 11 provincial assembly constituencies of the provincial capital.

Thursday was the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

According to the data compiled by the returning officers concerned, 31 nomination papers were withdrawn for the four National Assembly constituencies, while 70 candidates withdrew papers for the 11 provincial assembly constituencies of Peshawar.

Those who withdrew candidature are mostly independent or covering candidates of the major political parties.

The final list of candidates will be issued by the returning officers today (Friday).

Around 14 candidates withdrew their nomination papers for NA-1.

Now, noted among those in the running for the seat are former federal minister Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour (Awami National Party), Imran Khan (Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf), former MNA Shabbir Ahmad Khan (Jamaat-i-Islami), Zulfiqar Afghani (Pakistan People’s Party-Parliamentarians), Haji Shahnawaz (Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl) and Haji Mohammad Afzal (Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz).

Also, 10 candidates withdrew their candidature for NA-2.

Now, prominent among the contestants in the constituency are former federal minister Arbab Alamgir (PPPP), Arbab Najeeb (ANP), former district naib nazim Dr Iqbal Khalil (JI), Maulana Mohammad Saeed Jan (JUI-F), ex-MPA Ateefur Rehman (independent) and Iqtidar Ahmad Afridi (PML-N).

Likewise, three candidates withdrew their candidature for NA-3 and four for NA-4.

Now, noted contestants for NA-3 are ex-MNA Noor Alam Khan (PPPP), Senator Haji Ghulam Ali (JUI-F), Iqbal Zafar Jhagra (PML-N), Arbab Inamullah (ANP) and Israrullah (JI), while key candidates for NA-4 are former provincial minister Arbab Ayub Jan (ANP), ex-MNA Sabir Hussain Awan (JI), Misbahuddin Khan (PPPP) and Gulzar Khan (PTI).

The nomination papers for the provincial assembly constituencies withdrawn total nine for PK-1, six for PK-2, five for PK-3, 10 each for PK-4 and PK-5, eight for PK-6, six for PK-7, three for PK-8, two for PK-9, eight for PK-10 and three for PK-11.

In some constituencies, several candidates from PTI are in the electoral race.

The most interesting among them is PK-8, where 12 candidates filed papers on behalf of PTI but only two of them withdrew candidature.

Similarly, while Yaseen Khalil is the official PTI candidate on PK-5, four other members of the party didn’t withdraw papers.

Same is the case in PK-2, where five PTI candidates, including provincial general secretary Shaukat Ali Yousafzai, have filed nomination papers.

More From This Section

Maulana Sami calls for restraint

NOWSHERA: Head of Taliban negotiation committee Maulana Samiul Haq has said that they would expedite efforts to ...

Beheaded body of woman found

MARDAN: Police found beheaded body of an unidentified woman in Janbaz Naraywala village near Sheikh Yousaf Chowk on...

Militancy brings the curtain down on 13 Peshawar schools, PA told

Opposition MPA Mufti Syed Janan calls figure wrong, seeks action against officials.

PDWP approves Rs52.6bn projects

PESHAWAR: The Provincial Development Working Party (PDWP) has approved nine development projects with an estimated...

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
Front Page