Map showing Balochistan province of Pakistan.— File Photo
Map showing Balochistan province of Pakistan.— File Photo

QUETTA: Some political parties, including the Pakistan Muslim League-Q, National Party, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party, Jamaat-i-Islami, Balochistan National Party-Awami, Awami National Party and Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam have awarded tickets to their candidates for national and provincial assembly seats of Balochistan.

However, some other mainstream parties, including the PPP-P, PML-N, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, Jamhoori Watan Party and Balochistan National Party-Mengal, have yet to finalise names of their candidates for the national and provincial assembly seats in the province.

According to sources, the PML-N is facing problems in finalising the list of its candidates as differences have emerged in the party over issuing party tickets to some newcomers.

The Pakistan Peoples Party-Parliamentarians has also not announced the names of its candidates so far. Sources said the provincial parliamentary board of the party had sent names of its candidates to the party’s central command for a decision on the matter.

The Balochistan National Party-Mengal has also yet to announce the names of its candidates.

The PML-Q has decided to field candidates on 14 national and 65 provincial assembly seats from Balochistan.

Prominent among those who will contest on the PML-Q ticket are Sheikh Jaffar Khan Mandokhel, Mir Abdul Karim Nousherwani, Sardar Masood Ali Khan Luni, Syed Saeed Ahmed Hashmi, Mir Ismail Lehri, Naseer Ahmed Bacha, Sardar Asmatullah Khan Musakhel, Mir Asim Kurd, Mir Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo, Sheikh Jaffar Khan Mandokhel, Mir Mohabat Khan Marri, Habib-ur-Rehman Mohammad Hasni, Mir Hamal Kalmati and Mir Jan Muhammad Jamali.

The Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) will field candidates for seven national and 23 provincial assembly seats from the province. Party chairman Mehmood Khan Achakzai will contest on two National Assembly seats of Quetta and Qila Abdullah.

The party’s deputy chairman, Abdul Rahim Mandokhel, has been awarded ticket from Quetta-Chagai while Senator Nawab Ayaz Khan Jogezai has been awarded ticket for a provincial assembly seat. Dr Hamid Achakzai, brother of Mehmood Khan Achakzai, Usman Kakar, Abdul Rahim Ziaratwal, Sardar Raza Muhammad Barrach and Abdul Qahar Wadan are to contest for provincial assembly seats.

The National Party (NP) has also awarded tickets to its candidates. Party President Dr Malik Baloch will not contest from any constituency. However, other party leaders Dr Abdul Hai Baloch, Sardar Kamal Khan Bangulzai and Haji Abdul Wahid would contest for National Assembly seats.

Prominent among the party’s provincial assembly candidates are Dr Ishaq Baloch, Akram Dashti, Mir Yousuf Notezai, Nawab Muhammad Khan Shahwani, Sardar Aslam Bizenjo, Sardar Asif Sher Jamaldani and Mir Khalid Lango.

The Jamaat-i-Islami has announced that it will contest polls for six national assembly and 30 provincial assembly seats.

The JUI-F has awarded party tickets to Hafiz Hamdullah, Ghafoor Haideri and Maulana Muhammad Khan Shirani.

More From This Section

Bombers’ trail leads to arrests from guava farm in south Punjab

Officials said they are comparing the bombers’ modus operandi with that of TTP and UBA in Islamabad Sabzi Mandi blast.

Federal cabinet meets in Islamabad

Today’s meeting is also expected to reach important decisions on the future of talks with the TTP.

Court rejects Musharraf's petition against prosecutor's appointment

Announcing the court's decision on the plea, Registrar Abdul Ghani said the petition was inadmissible for hearing.

Series of explosions at FC fort in Landi Kotal; no casualties

An arms depot is located in a fort in Landi Kotal and the explosions took place there at about 1 am and later at 4 am.

Comments are closed.

Comments (1)

mary shah
March 30, 2013 10:18 am
PMLN should cosider their senior and sincere party workers who have been working for long time for party as compared to new comers who jioned party for party tickets. this thing will lose the image of party thanks
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
From The Newspaper