LAHORE, Feb 18: PPP’s parliamentary and deputy parliamentary leaders on Monday issued show-cause notices to party’s nine MPAs over joining the PML-N.

“Today, we have issued show-cause notices to PPP’s nine legislators for defecting to the PML-N. These MPAs have violated Constitution’s articles 62 and 63 and they may be declared disqualified by the Election Commission,” PPP Deputy Parliamentary Leader Shaukat Basra told Dawn.

He said the party would wait for their replies until Tuesday (today), and upon not receiving their response would file a petition in the ECP.

The PPP MPAs who had recently joined the PML-N included Nishat Ahmed Daha, Syed Jamil Shah, Rana Babar Husain and Abbas Zafar Hiraj from Khanewal district; Rana Munawwar Husain and Sardar Kamil Gujjar from Sargodha; Javed Alauddin from Okara and Qaiser Sandhu from Gujranwala.

Azma Zahid Bukhari, an MPA from women’s reserved seat, along with her husband, Samiullah Khan (a former MPA and secretary-general Punjab), had also defected to the PML-N.

More From This Section

Mid-April rain a joy for people, misery for farmers

LAHORE: Freak rain, heavy at places, and windstorm in the plains of Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on Friday...

Prolonged wet spell may hit wheat

LAHORE: With wheat ready for harvest, Punjab Minister for Agriculture Farrukh Javed on Friday asked people to pray...

Aitchison principal quits

LAHORE: Aitchison College Principal Shamim Saifullah Khan has preferred resigning from his office than allowing 70...

PU VC’s wife to head Law College

LAHORE: Punjab University Law College Associate Professor Dr Shazia Qureshi has been appointed principal of the...

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
Front Page