Dawn News

Bismah, Nain shine in warm-up tie

CUTTACK: Pakistan ran out comfortable winners when trounced Odisha XI here on Tuesday in their warm-up match for the ICC Women’s World Cup at the Barabati Stadium.

Impressive half-centuries from Nain Abidi and Bismah Maroof enabled Pakistan post 240 in 48.4 overs after skipper Sana Mir chose to bat after winning the toss.

Nain scored 73 off 94 balls with the help of seven fours and one six, while Bismah, the dominant partner in the third-wicket partnership of 148, struck 12 boundaries in her 92-ball innings of 76. Javeria Khan (run-a-ball 33, four fours) and Qanita Jalil (25 off 19, three fours and one six) also added useful runs.

Gangotra Behera (3-18) and Sujata Mallik (3-43) were the leading wicket-takers for the local side.

Odisha XI, in reply, were restricted to 145-8 in their 50 overs despite skipper Madhusmita Behera scoring 53 from 111 deliveries (eight fours).

Asmavia Iqbal (3-20), Sadia Yousuf (2-9) and Sana Mir (2-25) shared the bowling honours for Pakistan.

Summarised scores: PAKISTAN 240 in 48.4 overs (Bismah Maroof 76, Nain Abidi 73, Javeria Khan 33, Qanita Jalil 25; G.H. Behera 3-18, S.K. Mallik 3-43, S.D. Pradhan 2-51); ODISHA XI 145-8 in 50 overs (M.S. Behera 53, G.H. Behera 31, K.M. Mohakud 21; Asmavia Iqbal 3-20, Sadia Yousuf 2-9, Sana Mir 2-25).—Agencies

Comments (0) Closed