PESHAWAR, Jan 5: Senior advocates Abdul Lateef Khan and Mohammad Arshad Awan were unanimously elected as vice chairman and chairman of executive council of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Bar Council (KPBC), respectively, here on Saturday for the year 2013.

Their election took place in a meeting of the bar council chaired by its chairman, Advocate Khalid Khan, who is also Khyber Pakhtunkhwa advocate general.

The meeting also adopted a resolution, presented by Ahmad Farooq Khattak, to pay tributes to late Bashir Ahmad Bilour and express sympathy with his family.

The meeting called upon the federal and provincial governments that the sacrifices rendered by Bashir Ahmad Bilour for restoration of peace in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa should not be wasted and steps should be taken for completion of his mission.

The meeting asked the government to adopt appropriate measures for providing peaceful atmosphere to the coming generation.

The meeting also adopted another resolution asking the government to provide equal representation to all the provinces in Pakistan Bar Council on the pattern of Senate of Pakistan.

The meeting said that federating units of the country were given equal share in the Senate, therefore, the same pattern should be adopted in PBC, which was the apex body of lawyers in the country.

More From This Section

Historical mosque renovated

MINGORA: Residents of Sapal Bandai area of Swat have preserved the woodwork carved on a mosque dating back to over...

350 Jinnah college graduates get degrees

PESHAWAR: About 350 graduates of different sessions were conferred degrees at the 21st convocation of the Jinnah...

KP still unwilling to allow launch of Malala’s book

Government fears Taliban attacks on varsities promoting education campaigner.

Tableeghi congregation concludes

MINGORA: The three-day Tableeghi congregation concluded here on Saturday morning with special prayers for the...

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
Front Page