Dawn News

Pakistan name team for Davis Cup tie

KARACHI: The Pakistan Tennis Federation (PTF) on Friday named a four-member squad for the Asia-Oceania Group-II Davis Cup tie being held in Sri Lanka from Feb 1 to 3.

The team was released here by the selection committee headed by former Pakistan Davis captain Khawaja Saeed Hai. Other members of the committee include Arif Qureshy, Asim Shafiq, Inam-ul-Haq, Ahmed Ijaz, Nadir Mumtaz and Major Nabeel.

Both Pakistan top players — Aisam-ul-Haq and Pakistan number one Aqeel Khan — were exempted from the trials and selected directly in the team.

“We invited 12 players from all over Pakistan for the trials and two selected two — Yasir Khan and Abid Mushtaq,” Saeed said, adding Heera Ashiq will be the standby.

Saeed said a training camp for the Davis Cup tie would be held in Islamabad from Jan 15.—APP

Email feedback and queries to Dawn.com's editorial team, or visit our contact page


Comments (0) Closed