LAHORE, Dec 14: Two changes have been made to the 18-member hockey team featuring in the upcoming second Asian Champions Trophy scheduled to be held from Dec 20 to 27 in Doha.

Mohammad Irfan and Mohammad Salman Hussain have been inducted into the team to replace Umar Bhutta and Rizwan Junior, who were part of the bronze medal winning team at the Champions Trophy held this month in Melbourne.

It is pertinent to mention that Irfan was banned for six months for not reporting on time at the training camp held for the last Champions Trophy.

However, later on the PHF president accepted Irfan’s mercy appeal and reduced the six-month ban to a month.

Talking about changes in the team, a spokesman for the Pakistan Hockey Federation said that Rizwan was unfit while Umar Bhutta’s performance was unsatisfactory in the Champions Trophy.

The players are directed to report to camp commandant Akhtar Rasool Chaudhary at the Mian Mohammad Sharif Hockey Stadium on Sunday.

Squad: Mohammad Imran (captain), Mohammad Waqas (vice-captain), Imran Shah, Imran Butt (goalkeepers), Syed Kashif Shah, Mohammad Rizwan Senior, Mohammad Tousiq, Fareed Ahmed, Rashid Mahmood, Shafqat Rasool, Abdul Haseem Khan, Ali Shan, Mohammad Ateeq, Waseem Ahmed, Mohammad Kashif Ali, Shakeel Abbasi, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Salman Hussain.

Do you have information you wish to share with You can email our News Desk to share news tips, reports and general feedback. You can also email the Blog Desk if you have an opinion or narrative to share, or reach out to the Special Projects Desk to send us your Photos, or Videos.

More From This Section

Comments (0) Closed