hockey, pakistan hockey, champions trophy, champions trophy 2012
Pakistan hockey team celebrate with their medals at the Champions Trophy. -Photo by AFP

KARACHI: The Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) announced an 18-member squad for the second Asian Champions Trophy tournament which will be played in Doha, Qatar from December 20-27.

Pakistan will enter the tournament as the top-ranked Asian team after clinching the bronze medal at the recently-concluded Champions Trophy. The Greenshirts also improved their worldwide ranking from number nine to number five.

Pakistan dropped Umar Bhutta and Mohammad Rizwan (jr.) while the selected players have been asked to report to a build-up camp from December 16. Bhutta has been dropped due to unsatisfactory performance in the Champions Trophy while Rizwan is unfit.

Squad: Imran Shah, Imran Butt, Syed Kashif Shah, Muhammad Imran (Capt), Muhammad Rizwan Senior, Muhammad Tousiq, Fareed Ahmed, Rashid Mahmood, Muhammad Waqas (Vice-Capt), Shafqat Rasool, Abdul Haseem Khan, Ali Shan, Muhammad Ateeq, Waseem Ahmed, Muhammad Kashif Ali, Shakeel Abbasi, Muhammad Irfan, M. Salman Hussain.

Do you have information you wish to share with You can email our News Desk to share news tips, reports and general feedback. You can also email the Blog Desk if you have an opinion or narrative to share, or reach out to the Special Projects Desk to send us your Photos, or Videos.

More From This Section

Comments (0) Closed