Canada elect to bat v Australia

Published Mar 16, 2011 08:59am


Australia are seeking to extend their unbeaten run while Canada is playing in its last match of the tournament. -AP Photo

BANGALORE: Canada captain Ashish Bagai won the toss and elected to bat against Australia in a World Cup Group A match on Wednesday.

Champions Australia, who have already qualified for the quarter-finals, are seeking to extend their unbeaten World Cup streak to 34 matches, kept the same team that defeated Kenya on Sunday.

Canada are playing their last match in the tournament and have won only one of their five matches, against fellow associates, Kenya.

They made two changes to the side that lost to New Zealand, bringing in Nitish Kumar and Karl Whatham in place of Khurram Chohan and Ruvindu Gunasekera.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Shane Watson, Brad Haddin, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, Cameron White, Steve Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Shaun Tait, Jason Krejza.

Canada: Ashish Bagai (captain), Nitish Kumar, Zubin Surkari, Jimmy Hansra, Rizwan Cheema, John Davison, Hiral Patel, Harvir Baidwan, Karl Whatham, Balaji Rao, Henry Osinde.

Do you have information you wish to share with You can email our News Desk to share news tips, reports and general feedback. You can also email the Blog Desk if you have an opinion or narrative to share, or reach out to the Special Projects Desk to send us your Photos, or Videos.

More From This Section

Comments (0) Closed