Dawn News

Plea to put ministers on ECL dismissed

RAWALPINDI, Oct 27: The Lahore High Court rejected on Wednesday a plea for putting the names of Interior Minister Rehman A. Malik, Law Minister Babar Awan, former Punjab chief minister Pervaiz Elahi and former president Pervez Musharraf on the Exit Control List (ECL).

Justice Sagheer Ahmed Qadri of LHC’s Rawalpindi bench did not accept the application by Chaudhry Mohammad Aslam who had prayed that the four leaders and some officials should be barred from leaving the country because he wanted to nominate them in a case regarding former prime minister Benazir Bhutto’s assassination.

The judge observed that only the authorities concerned could decide about putting a name on the ECL and the court had already dismissed such an application.

Email feedback and queries to Dawn.com's editorial team, or visit our contact page

Comments (0) Closed