RAWALPINDI, July 27: After refusing for May 11 elections, this time the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) gave the party ticket to former MPA Sarfraz Afzal for PP-6 by-election to be held on August 22.

Federal Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan had won the PP-6 seat as an independent candidate bagging 51,826 votes.

Since he emerged victorious from national assembly seat also, he opted for NA-52 constituency and left PP-6.

Due to differences between two main groups of the PML-N, led by Chaudhry Tanveer Ahmed and Ch Nisar Ali Khan, the party decided not to issue party ticket to any of the two.

Chaudhry Tanveer’s nephew Sarfraz Afzal who was MPA from this seat from 2008-2013 also submitted his nomination papers but later retired from the fray on the pressure from the party leaders.

PML-N senior leader told Dawn that the ticket was awarded on the recommendation of Ch Nisar Ali Khan who is divisional in-charge of the party and his decision was endorsed by the party chief.

When contacted, former MPA Sarfraz Afzal told Dawn that the political secretary of Federal Minister for Interior Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan informed him about the decision and asked to launch the election campaign in the area.

He said he would receive a formal letter of party ticket within two days.

About the differences in the party during May 11 elections, he said that Nisar Ali Khan was senior party leader and he had no differences with him.

More From This Section

Ministers don’t appreciate ‘value’ of food

ISLAMABAD: Members of the federal cabinet don’t usually miss any opportunity they get to remind the people that...

I-11’s ‘rightful’ land owners seek possession

Judge asks slum dwellers’ counsel to produce documents justifying their occupation of the land

Ex-UC nazim held for smuggling narcotics

ISLAMABAD: A former union council (UC) nazim of Hangu was arrested along with an official of the levies, while...

10 teachers booked for leaking exam paper

The accused will be tried for criminal breach of trust under Pakistan Penal Code

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
Front Page