MUZZAFARABAD: Six ministers from the cabinet of Azad Jammu & Kashmir Prime Minister Chaudhry Abdul Majeed resigned on Monday following the submission of a no-confidence motion against the region’s premier by two assembly members from the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP).

The motion was moved by PPP’s Mohammad Hussain and Majid Khan, following which three advisers also tendered their resignations.

According to sources, the six ministers who resigned — Barqiyat Chaudhry, Majid Khan, Akbar Ibrahim, Hussain Sargala, Afsar Shahid, Akhtar Hussain Rabbani and Azhar Gilani — and three advisers, will be voting in favour of the no-confidence motion against Majeed.

Chaudhry Abdul Majeed of PPP’s AJK chapter was sworn in as the 11th prime minister of Azad Kashmir in 2011.

He was born in 1948 in the Tangdev village of AJK’s Mirpur district and is a 1969 law graduate from Karachi’s S. M. Law College.

More From This Section

SC has learnt to bolster democracy, says chief justice

Authority of SC may be extended to a number of areas from which it has historically maintained a distance, said CJ.

Musharraf likely to travel to Karachi today

Sources said Musharraf's likely visit to Karachi is on account of security issues and to continue of his treatment.

Nation standing firm beside armed forces: PM

The prime minister was addressing the passing out parade of the 129th Pakistan Military Academy Long Course on Saturday.

Police officer among two shot dead in Quetta targeted killings

Armed militants killed a police officer and critically injured his son on Quetta's troubled Sariab road area.

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
From The Newspaper