The image shows a view of the Punjab Assembly.—Photo by AFP/File

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) leader Shahbaz Sharif was sworn in as chief minister Punjab for a third time, securing 300 votes and more than a two-third majority in the Punjab Assembly.

His sole opponent, Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf's (PTI) Mian Mahmoodur Rashid, secured only 34 votes despite enjoying the support of Pakistan Muslim League - Quaid (PML-Q). The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) abstained from voting in today's election.

The rule of division was used to ascertain the candidate enjoying the support of majority of the members. Moreover, separate lobbies had been earmarked for both candidates and members were asked to go for either of the two to ascertain the number of supporters each candidate enjoyed.

The PML-N secured a two-thirds majority in the assembly by bagging 305 seats in the May 11 general election and its nominee Iqbal secured 297 votes in the contest for the speaker’s office.

The PTI and the PML-Q jointly have 35 members in the house.

Do you have information you wish to share with Dawn.com? You can email our News Desk to share news tips, reports and general feedback. You can also email the Blog Desk if you have an opinion or narrative to share, or reach out to the Special Projects Desk to send us your Photos, or Videos.

More From This Section

Comments (0) Closed