pakistan cricket, pakistan in south africa, south africa vs pakistan
-File photo

LAHORE: The national selection committee will announce the 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy after holding a two-day meeting here on Monday and Tuesday.

The committee headed by former Test left-arm spinner Iqbal Qasim will choose the team from a list of 30 probables submitted to the ICC on March 30.

The eight-nation Champions Trophy is scheduled to be held in England from June 6 to 23.

However, the selection committee will be worrying as the best performers of the recently concluded President’s Cup one-day tournament are not included in the 30-member list.

Sohaib Maqsood (427) and Riffatullah Mohmand (425), Khurram Manzoor (349) and Sharjeel Khan (279) are not part of the probables’ list. Whereas Azhar Ali (356), Asad Shafiq (279), Misbah-ul-Haq (256), Kamran Akmal (249), and Umar Amin (218), who also did well with the bat in the President’s Cup, are included in the list.

And though the likes of Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Farhat, Ahmed Shehzad, Haris Sohail, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik and Shahid Afridi already on the probalbes’ list, yet they could not come up to the expectations in batting during the President’s Cup.

Seasoned campaigner Younis Khan, not named in the Champions Trophy probables’ list, also could not score productively in the President’s Cup scoring just 163 runs with one century.

In the bowling department, Test paceman Umar Gul, due to a knee injury is already out of contention.

However, there are some talented bowlers available like Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan along with promising fast bowlers like Asad Ali and Ehsan Adil, who can stabilise this department as they all fared impressively in the President’s Cup.

After the selection of final 15, a national training camp will be held in Abbottabad from May 3.

Probables: Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Farhat, Ahmed Shehzad, Misbah-ul-Haq, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Sohail Tanvir, Hammad Azam, Azhar Ali, Shahid Afridi, Asad Ali, Anwar Ali, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Umar Gul, Rahat Ali, Ehsan Adil, Imran Khan, Aizaz Cheema, Yasir Arafat, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Zulfiqar Babar, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan.

More From This Section

It is getting tough for bowlers in limited-overs cricket: Saeed

KARACHI: Saeed Ajmal, widely regarded as the world’s best off-spinner, says that life is becoming increasingly...

Moores returns as England coach

LONDON: Peter Moores was named England coach for the second time on Saturday as the cricket board continued its...

No way back for Pietersen, says ECB chief

LONDON: Kevin Pietersen’s hopes of reviving his international career appeared to end on Saturday when England and...

‘ECB annoyance made PCB give Rashid cold shoulder’

According to sources, the ECB was not happy with PCB's offer to Rashid who has been blunt in his support of Kaneria.

Comments are closed.

Comments (3)

April 22, 2013 9:33 am
please give Sharjeel a chance......
April 22, 2013 9:32 am
i wonder they are giving a chance to Sharjeel Khan, he is the next Sehwag. And also Ahmad Shehzad?? why does PCB keep selecting Farhat ?
April 22, 2013 7:30 am
no afridi please
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
Front Page