TAXILLA: Senior Pakistan Muslim League - Nawaz (PML-N) leader Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan lost Punjab's provincial assembly seat from Taxilla's PP-7 to Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI) candidate Siddiq Khan after a recount in six polling stations of the constituency, DawnNews reported.

The PML-N lost the lone seat in Taxilla tehsil, where Nisar had earlier been declared as a winner with a 311 vote lead.

More From This Section

Musharraf's plane departs Islamabad for Karachi

Security has been put on high alert in the port city for Musharraf's expected arrival.

Journalist Hamid Mir injured in gun attack in Karachi

The incident took place on Sharae Faisal near Natha Khan area when the gunmen opened fire on his vehicle around 5:30pm

Nation standing firm beside armed forces: PM

The prime minister was addressing the passing out parade of the 129th Pakistan Military Academy Long Course on Saturday.

Quetta violence claims at least four lives

Armed militants killed a police officer and critically injured his son on Quetta's troubled Sariab road area.

Comments are closed.

Comments (2)

May 16, 2013 7:06 pm

Shame on PML - Nawaz. I am sure there are more pollings rigged by PML. Actual winner is PTI.

May 16, 2013 7:20 pm

Keep recounting and you will see many different results in a number of places.

Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
From The Newspaper